The Mango God

I have been thinking about mangoes lately.

It started when our daughter, who spent the spring semester in El Salvador, shared a new term she learned on retreat: mango friends. She told us that mangoes are the most abundant fruit in the world, with about nine Salvadoran varieties and more than 50 varieties in Hawaii. Spring is  mango season in El Salvador, and there were mangoes everywhere: in the grocery, on the table, falling from trees into the street, accumulating on the patio at Casa Romero where she lived. Sarah explained, “Mango friends are your close friends, those friends that show up everywhere, the friends that you can’t escape and wouldn’t want to if you could because they are so darn delicious.”

Then I read a Catholic News Service blog post about Blessed John Paul II which referred to him as “The Mango Pope.” It seems that when the pope visited Mexico for the first time in 1979, he was so taken with this Latin American fruit, his hosts prepared them for him in every imaginable way. Until he died, the Mexican people made sure that there were regular mango deliveries to the Vatican. This was just one example of how John Paul II connected with the people he visited. “Throughout his 26-year pontificate,” John Thavis wrote, “Pope John Paul paid attention not only to world leaders but also to the ‘little people’ and what was on their minds. On his journeys outside the Vatican, he would chat with workers, visit the sick and make pilgrimage to even the most humble of local shrines.” Thavis also shared the story of a visit to a shanty town in Brazil,where JPII took off his papal ring and donated it to be sold for the benefit of the local residents!

It made me think: our God is The Mango God. He shows up everywhere: in the Upper Room, on the road to Emmaus, and at Zacchaus’ house in Jericho, the well in Samaria and the wedding feast at Cana. He knows us by name. He is concerned about what we are concerned about. He meets us wherever we are. And He makes our lives so darn delicious!

6 Responses to “The Mango God”

  1. Laura Says:

    I love it! The idea behind the “mango God” is a really cool one and let me be the first to say that I love mangoes. It makes me think of my trip to Dominica later this month, we are going in the height of mango season. I know that you’re worried about me going, but this is a sign. I think that this experience will be a “mango” experience and what I learn from it will follow me around but I won’t want to escape it. Our Mango God will be looking after me and make my life all the more delicious 🙂 Love you Mango Mommy! Hope you are having a fabulous mothers day!

    • Noreen Says:

      Well, Middle Mango, I love your response to this post! And you are right that I am nervous about your trip, and your comments help ease my mind! It *is* cool that Sarah wrote that post, then I happened on the CNS post, and that you are going to Dominica in mango season. It’s all connected. We are all connected. Love you and like you!

  2. Chris Says:

    Isn’t there a Scripture verse that goes “Taste and see that the LORD is good?” I love this post! Also I love Laura’s comment! Thanks for making my life so delicious!

  3. Theresa Says:

    Our God is a Mango God
    He reigns in heaven above
    In Wisdom power and love
    Our God is a Mango God!

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

