The Rotogravure of Easter Past

In your Easter bonnet, with all the frills upon it, 
You’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter parade. 
I’ll be all in clover and when they look you over, 
I’ll be the proudest fellow in the Easter parade. 
On the avenue, fifth avenue, the photographers will snap us, 
And you’ll find that you’re in the rotogravure. 
Oh, I could write a sonnet about your Easter bonnet, 
And of the girl I’m taking to the Easter parade.

~ “Easter Parade” words and music by Irving Berlin

Happy Easter!

We stepped out of the house into a beautiful spring day on our way the 7:00 Easter Sunday Mass this morning, the beginning of a lovely day that has included worship, dinner with friends, a movie with the family and naps! But with Sarah still in El Salvador, it’s the first Easter without our precious oldest child in 21 years, so the Ghost of Easter Past has accompanied me all day.

Here is the rotogravure of Easter memories making me smile today.

1. Singing our special version of “Easter Parade” as we lined up “on the avenue, Erie Avenue” for the annual photo of the Hart kids in our Easter finery.

2. Easter bonnets, new white gloves and shiny patent leather shoes.

3. Coloring Easter eggs with my brothers and sisters and with our three children ~ the smell of newspaper and  vinegar and Paas dye and hard boiled eggs.

4.  Baskets full of Easter joy.

5. Bubbles and play dough and sidewalk chalk and baseball cards.

6. Peeps!

7. The best chocolate ever! (My dad had a good relationship with the Easter bunny.)

8. Black and spice (never fruit flavored) jelly beans.

9. Sharon’s family celebrating Easter with us in Gettysburg.

10. The year a bird pooped on my head on the walk to Easter Mass.

11. Imagining the man in the clover suit in the Easter parade. (The same guy who wore the big, red rose, when you wore a tulip, a big yellow tulip.)

12. Hoping to someday meet and marry the guy who would think I was the grandest lady in the Easter parade, even if he wore a clover suit.

13. Being married to him.

6 Responses to “The Rotogravure of Easter Past”

  1. Theresa Says:

    Aw!
    What does “all in clover” mean? My whole life, I don’t know what that means.
    Nice memories! I laughed, I cried.
    Love,
    Theresa

    • Noreen Says:

      I just looked it up! It is an idiom that means to be rich or successful and to have an easy or pleasant life. It maybe a reference to lucky four-leaf clovers? But I did always imagine a man in a suit of greenery!

  2. Trish Says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing Steve in that clover suit at the weddings this summer!

  3. Sarah Says:

    I missed you all too!

  4. Chris Says:

    New white gloves?!? Were you born in the 1950s? 🙂

    You are a blessed, blessed woman. More so because you *know* it! Thanks for sharing your lovely Easter memories…

Leave a Reply

